CHOW ON THAT! ANNUAL BUNNY CHOW COMPETITION 2016 & A GIVEAWAY

This past weekend saw the annual Bunny Chow Competition take place at everyone’s favourite hangout spot, Blue Lagoon. And as an Indian chick living in Durban all her life I am embarrassed to say that it was my first time attending. I did however expect to see more about it in the media which wasn’t the case, I heard about the event from friends & relatives. It looked like it was just publicised within the Indian media circles which is a bit disappointing given that I have so many white friends who really know how to appreciate a good bunny chow & would beam at the chance of attending this event.

We didn’t fully commit ourselves to attending but on Saturday morning my husband, Ashley, got a call from a representative at the Post Newspaper saying that he had been chosen to be a guest judge for the Post Crossbow Spice Challenge Bunny Chow Competition which is held in conjunction with the Coca-Cola Bunny Chow Barometer Competition & of course it was then decided that we would attend.

As I’m sure it is the case for many others, Blue Lagoon holds years of memories for me. Family braais, beach trips, biryani, tinned fish sandwiches & recollections of so many December holiday get-togethers come to mind every time I go there & has me smiling instantly. The weather was perfect & air was just bursting with the aroma of delicious curry & the sounds of live entertainment, it was a great atmosphere & indeed a lovely day to be out on the coast.

As mentioned there was actually two titles up for grabs:
1.  Coca-Cola Bunny Chow Barometer Competition – “Best Bunny Chow in KZN”
2.  Post Crossbow Spice Challenge Bunny Chow Competition – “Best Bunny Chow using a Crossbow product”
Competitors for both competitions were judged by a team of independent celebrity judges & Ashley just got added to the panel for the Post Crossbow competition.
Although the public didn’t get to weigh in on the final decision they still had the opportunity to purchase bunnies from the different competitors stalls & enjoy at their leisure.
Ashley & I had some family come out to join us for the day & together we purchased a few bunnies to taste & we really favoured the one made by Rocky Bunny but at the end of the day there can only be one winner & reigning champions from last year, Cane Cutters, scooped up the title once again this year.
As far as the Post Crossbow Spice Challenge went, variety & innovation was in abundance. There was even a chicken neck bunny amongst the entries! And according to my taste tester, Ashey, it was delicious as were the others but in the end it was Mr Pavin Beechay’s spicy mutton curry with a black lentil, mint & coriander paste bunny that came out the winner.

I can honestly say it was a day well spent & it has also prompted me to get out more & enjoy this lovely city we live in more. I will definitely be attending this event next & I hope you guys will too.

GIVEAWAY

In the spirit of getting out & enjoying our city, there’s a Currie Cup rugby match happening this Saturday between the Cell C Sharks & Toyota Free State Cheetahs at Kings Park Stadium at 5:00pm & I have two sets of double tickets to give away to two lucky readers.
All you have to do to enter is like & share the competition post on my Facebook page & leave a comment on this post telling me why you love the city of Durban.
Winner will be announced on Friday, 9 September at 3:00pm.

Good luck!
xoxo
blog signature

2 thoughts on “CHOW ON THAT! ANNUAL BUNNY CHOW COMPETITION 2016 & A GIVEAWAY

  1. I love durbs because , its my home its where i can enjoy our beautiful beaches and go on a short roadtrip to see the big 5 at Hluhluwe game reserve, its the place where i can enjoy the heart warming taste of my favourite breyani at Orientals in workshop and be whisked away to fine dining at the Oysterbox hotel, its where i can get a the best bargains at bangladesh market or shop till i drop at Gateway , its where i bump in to my friends at places and see a stranger return a friendly smile. This is my home

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

