Project #WatchMeGrow: A milestone & growth tracking photo series

Tracking & documenting your baby’s growth & milestones in the first year has quickly become a huge trend. Pinterest is overflowing with different ideas on the subject & it has gone far beyond merely jotting down dates & notes. The most popular & creative way to document your baby’s first year is in photos.
Right on the onset of my pregnancy I had committed myself to the idea of doing a growth tracking series for Ethan. I took to the internet & was immediately presented with thousands of lovely ideas as to how to go about it. After getting some online inspiration & being the crafter that I am I had it all planned out & by the time Ethan arrived I was ready & good to go.

I had decided on a side by side comparison theme where I would use a teddy as a size benchmark to show baby’s growth over the months. I got a bit more creative with it & also made a wool wrapped initial of his first name to use along with the teddy.
Given the emerging ‘flatlay’ trend on Instagram & the obvious fact that little Ethan would not be able to sit up during the first few months I went with a very basic flatlay set up for his photos.

At 5 months old, baby Ethan could sit up when supported & so it was time to change the set to suit his abilities. I broke out my sewing machine & got started on some pretty oxford cushion covers & our new set was made.

I buy almost all my fabrics from Waste Centre Fabrics, I’m like a kid in a candy store when I get there & the staff know me & my pattern taste very well. Their stock is endless, something for everyone. If you have a lust for fabric & want it at affordable prices then Waste Centre Fabrics is most definitely the place for you.

By 8 months baby Ethan started pulling himself up to standing position & I knew our photo set for the next month would have to evolve again. I had saved the boxes from my diaper purchases & then after a long 2 days of cutting, painting & gluing our new set was done.

On each photo I document his weight & length together with milestones met & little habits & quirks he has. It’s been a lovely journey documenting, tracking & watching my little one grow & meet the different milestones & I’m so glad I managed to make the time & see this project through to the end. I’m going to put all these photos as well as others into a photo book soon. It makes for a brilliant keepsake & I’m looking forward to seeing the excitement when Ethan one day goes through his book & sees his childhood captured.

blog signature

Leave a Reply

